When you’re ready to publish your work, Hatch has several settings to manage access to your projects. You’ll find these settings after hitting the ‘Share’ button at the top right of the editor. Let’s take a look at the menu below.
This universal control lets you automatically enable or disable all links leading to the site you’re currently working on. The first thing you should do after finishing working on a page is make sure this is turned on. Otherwise people won’t be able to access your site, even with the link.
However, this control is also very useful if you want to quickly remove access to your pages. For instance, if you found a mistake or something you’d like to change, you can turn this off before working on your page. Be aware, however, that people won’t be able to see the original version until you toggle project sharing back on.
Here’s a tip: you can tell if your project is currently being shared or not with a single glance.
If you see the ‘update’ button on the top right, this means the setting is turned on. You’ll then have to click on the button to access the Share settings instead.
The format for your site’s URL in hatch is the following:
hatch.one / @YourUsername / Project URL
This setting lets you change the last section of the link to whatever you’d like. The project URL doesn’t have to be unique to the community, because it’s tied to your username. However, you will need to have unique project URLs among your own pages.
Share on Hatch
Hatch has a wonderful community gallery where you can see what everyone is working on. It’s a great place to explore Hatch capabilities and get inspiration. In fact, you can find it under the “inspiration” tab.
After turning on the “share on Hatch” setting, your project will appear in this community gallery. It will also show up under your community profile, which will likewise only surface pages with the setting enabled.
We love the “remix” function because it’s so helpful to understand how projects work. Projects with the button act like templates that you can modify however you like. It’s a great way to find out how other people piece their complex sites together.
“Allow remixing” is turned off by default, which means other people won’t be able to access this function on your project. By turning it on, you can help out new creators on Hatch are figuring out how everything works. You may also inspire works that are a response to your own.
If you want to keep the functionality of your page private, just keep the setting toggled off and folks won’t be able to access your project through the editor.
When browsing Hatch pages, you’ll notice some sites have the a tag on the lower-left corner that shows hatch/username.
This is a clickable link that sends users straight to your Hatch profile, where they’ll be able to check out your other pages. By turning this setting on, this tag will automatically appear on the lower-left corner of your page.
This is a useful feature for those looking to use Hatch as a central hub for their web projects. It’s also a great way to help Hatch grow! Including this tag on your pages helps raise awareness for the Hatch community.
When browsing the community gallery, you’ll see that projects are laid out as a series of thumbnails.
The image you load in this setting will change the thumbnail displayed in the gallery. While the editor will pick a thumbnail for you automatically, you’ll get exactly what you want if you choose it yourself. You can even use GIFS to get an animated thumbnail.
However you choose to publish and share your Hatch projects, we’re thrilled to have you here and can’t wait to see what you make! If you need help with your Hatch settings, pop over to our community forum and feel free to ask questions.